The Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Published: September 3rd, 2015

Category: Honors and Awards

The Outstanding Young Alumni (OYA) Awards were created in 2006 by the UF Alumni Association to recognize Gators who are leaders in their profession and community. OYA recipients are under the age of 35 who are truly making a difference in our world. Each college selects a reipient on an annual basis to be presented with an award.

Click here to nominate someone today!

2017 Distinction

Jason Karnes - Young Alumni Award_webJason Karnes

2017 Outstanding Young Alumni Award Recipient

Jason Karnes, Pharm.D., Ph.D., BCPS, a dual degree graduate of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, was presented an Outstanding Young Alumni Award by the UF Alumni Association during a ceremony on April 7, 2017.

Karnes graduated from UF with his Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2008 and completed his Doctor of Philosophy in Clinical Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2012. He served as a research fellow in the Division of Clinical Pharmacology at Vanderbilt University’s School of Medicine from 2012-15, and is in his second year as an assistant professor in the department of pharmacy practice and science at the University of Arizona. His primary area of research interest is cardiovascular pharmacogenomics, specifically investigating the utility of genetic polymorphisms to predict toxicities of cardiovascular drugs. Karnes has received an American Heart Association Scientist Development Grant and an American College of Clinical Pharmacy Research Institute’s Future Award to support his work.

Read More…

Past Distinctions

  • 2016: Matthew Kirchoff, ’09, ’11

  • 2015: Ben Epstein, ’03

  • 2014: Katelyn Dervay ’05

  • 2013: John Gregg ’03 and Farrell Simon ’07

  • 2012: Shawn Anderson ’06 and Suzy Wise ’09

  • 2011: Amber Beitelshees ’01 and Tobias Gerhard ’07

  • 2010: Paul Landerville ’02 and Susan Maue ’98

  • 2009: Sriram Kristnaswam ’01 and Katie Vogel Anderson ’03

  • 2008: Michael Taylor ’05 and DeArcy Vaughan ’03

  • 2007: Susan Baumgartner ’96 and Shashank Rohatagi ’95

  • 2006: Denise Klinker ’03, David Medvedeff ’99 and Bill (William) Ratner ’98