Outstanding Pharmacy Service Award

Published: September 12th, 2014

Category: Honors and Awards

This award is presented each year to a non-alumnus who has made significant contributions to the UF College of Pharmacy and to the pharmacy profession.

2013 Daniel E. Buffington

DanielBuffingtonA faculty at the University of South Florida College of Medicine and Pharmacy, Daniel Buffington, Pharm.D., MBA, studied biology and biochemistry at USF, and earned a Doctor of Pharmacy and a Master of Business Administration from Mercer University. He also completed a residency and clinical pharmacology fellowship at Emory University. As a clinical pharmacology specialist, he provides medication therapy management consulting, serves as a principal investigator for Phase II and III clinical trials, and manages a national drug information service that provides clinical support for medical practices, health systems and health plans. His consultant service helps patients taking chronic or high-risk medications achieve improved health outcomes and patient safety, and includes forensic pharmacology that supports medical examiners, law enforcement and attorneys. He is on the board of trustees of the American Pharmacists Association and represents pharmacists on the American Medical Association’s Current Procedural Terminology panel.

2014 Michael Jackson

MichaelJacksonMichael Jackson serves as executive vice president and CEO of the Florida Pharmacy Association. His dedication to the pharmacy profession through his FPA leadership and his service as a pharmacist during his career are exemplary. He has represented the UF College of Pharmacy as a leader in Florida pharmacy and as a member of the college’s National Advisory Board over many years. Jackson earned a Bachelor of Pharmacy from the College of Pharmacy at Florida A&M University in 1976, and began his career as an assistant manager at Peoples Drugs Company (now CVS Pharmacy) in Alexandria, Virginia. He has been a licensed pharmacist in Florida and Alabama for more than 30 years with practice experience in independent and chain pharmacy, and hospital and veterinary hospital pharmacy. His management experience included more than 58 pharmacies in Florida, Alabama and Mississippi. He has served on state councils and boards, including the Drug Utilization Review Board for Florida Medicaid, Collaborative Drug Therapy Management Task Force, ePrescribe Florida Advisory Council, Florida Governor’s Health Information Infrastructure Advisory Board, and the Florida Agency for Health Administration Electronic Prescribing Advisory Panel. He also served three years in academia as coordinator of the professional experiential learning program at Florida A&M University, and in teaching and pharmacy practice at Tuskegee University’s College of Veterinary Medicine. He also serves on the executive committee of the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations, and served as its past president.