Dr. Kaitlin Alexander elected president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine Florida chapter

Kaitlin Alexander, Pharm.D., BCCCP, a clinical associate professor in the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, has been elected president of the Florida chapter of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, or SCCM. Her tenure as president-elect will begin in June, and she will officially assume the presidency in the summer of 2025.

Kaitlin Alexander, Pharm.D., BCCCP

As president, she will oversee operations and programming for a statewide, multidisciplinary critical care organization with a board of directors and three working committees serving members across eight Florida regions. The chapter provides opportunities for critical care practitioners across Florida to engage in education and collaboration. SCCM Florida’s membership includes physicians, nurses, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, physician assistants and other health care professionals.

“I am honored to assume the role of Florida chapter president,” Alexander said. “I am committed to enhancing the educational offerings and fostering a sense of community and connection among members throughout the state. My ultimate goals are to facilitate the continued growth of the chapter and support its productivity to serve our members.”

Alexander joined the SCCM Florida chapter in 2021. She has served the organization as chapter secretary, chaired the clinical pharmacy and pharmacology education committee and held leadership positions on several other committees. Her outstanding service to the organization has been recognized with the SCCM Presidential Citation Award on four separate occasions.

Carinda Feild, Pharm.D. a clinical associate professor in the UF College of Pharmacy, previously served as president of the SCCM Florida chapter from 2022-23.