Three UF College of Pharmacy graduate students receive fellowships for the 2023-24 academic year

University of Florida College of Pharmacy graduate students RJ Marrero, Zachary Greenberg and Corey Perkins received fellowships for their remarkable achievements in research and leadership. The awards will support the student’s studies during the 2023-24 academic year.

Greenberg, Perkins and Marrero

Greenberg, a fourth-year Ph.D. student under the mentorship of Mei He, Ph.D., received the Ronald J and Sally G. Brenner Fellowship. Greenberg secured the fellowship based on his academic performance, including a 4.0 GPA, along with receiving the best abstract and poster awards at the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, or AAPS, annual meeting for two consecutive years in 2021 and 2022. He also served as the President of the UF AAPS student chapter, co-chairing the Gordon Research Seminar Extracellular Vesicles international meeting and received the NIH Diversity Supplement award. 

Perkins, a fifth-year Ph.D. student mentored by Tom Schmittgen, Ph.D., received the Bonnie Avery Advancing Women in Pharmaceutical Sciences Fellowship. Perkins was recognized for her achievements including her induction into the inaugural class of the Southeastern Conference Emerging Scholars Program, her involvement in the Graduate Student Council since 2020, her participation in the Summer Health Professions Education Program and the college’s Diversity & Inclusion Committee. 

Marrero, a fifth-year Ph.D. student in the department of pharmacotherapy and translational research, under the mentorship of Jatinder Lamba, Ph.D., M.Sc., received the Robert and Stephany Ruffolo Graduate Education and Research Fellowship. Marrero earned this recognition through his notable contributions, including peer mentorship, APPE involvement and various awards for his achievements.