YiuTing Huang named 2023 CVS Health Minority Scholarship winner

YiuTing Huang, a second-year student pharmacist at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, was one of five students nationally selected as a 2023 CVS Health Minority Scholarship winner. The award recognizes student pharmacists for their outstanding leadership, academic success and commitment to advancing the profession of pharmacy and patient care. Huang was selected from more than 450 applicants and will receive an $8,000 scholarship.

YiuTing-Huang“Winning this scholarship confirms this is where I belong, and this is the career that will not only help me grow as a professional and individual but be able to serve my community and impact those whom I interact with every day,” Huang said. “I am honored to represent the CVS Health Minority Scholarship throughout my career — encouraging others that no matter your background, and the difficulties you encounter, if you work hard enough, doors will open for you, allowing you the opportunity to inspire.”

Huang was born and raised in Puerto Rico. He began pursuit of his Pharm.D. degree in 2022 and attends classes at the UF College of Pharmacy’s Orlando campus. While Huang is still deciding what career path he wants to follow in pharmacy, one of his long-term goals is to own an independent specialty pharmacy and give back to his community in hopes of being an advocate for his patients.

The CVS Health Minority Scholarship aims to reduce the financial barriers for underrepresented minority students who are pursuing a Pharm.D. degree. The scholarship is awarded to underrepresented minority students who are entering into or recently enrolled in Pharm.D. programs at American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy member institutions. Underrepresented minority pharmacy students are identified as Black, Hispanic or Latino, American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and/or Pacific Islander students who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

Huang is the second UF College of Pharmacy student to win the CVS Health Minority Scholarship in the last five years. William M. Chmely, Pharm.D., ’22, received the scholarship in 2019.