Laurenne Lafrance named 2023 Zada M. Cooper Scholarship recipient

Laurenne Lafrance, a third-year Pharm.D. student from the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, is one of five students nationally to receive a 2023 Zada M. Cooper Scholarship from Kappa Epsilon. The pharmaceutical fraternity and its foundation honored Lafrance for her superior achievements as a pharmacy student. The Miami native is a student ambassador and has participated in multiple student organizations, including the Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Student National Pharmaceutical Association and Kappa Epsilon. In addition, she supports pharmacogenomics research led by Clinical Assistant Professor Emily Cicali, Pharm.D.

Laureen Lafrance“Kappa Epsilon is like a family to me, and to win this scholarship is a win for the whole chapter,” Lafrance said. “It has been an honor to work hard and bring energy to this chapter, and I am delighted that my efforts have been recognized. As a scholarship recipient, I will strive to make Kappa Epsilon proud.”

The Zada M. Cooper Scholarship was established in 1955 in honor of Kappa Epsilon’s founder, Zada M. Cooper. The scholarship is supported by a small percentage of each member’s national dues in addition to members who donate to the Kappa Epsilon Foundation Scholarship Fund. The award consists of five $1,000 scholarships that are presented annually to active collegiate members by the Kappa Epsilon Foundation.