Teacher Service Award winners announced for 2021-2022 academic year

The University of Florida College of Pharmacy has announced the following faculty have won Teaching Service Awards for the 2021-22 academic year.

Teaching Service Awards
Pictured clockwise from the top left: Drs. Kaitlin Alexander, Lindsey Childs-Kean, Yousong Ding, Carinda Feild, Robert Huigens, Chris McCurdy, Bethany Shoulders and Lihui Yuan

Kaitlin AlexanderFor exceptional teaching to enhance student preparation in the APPE Readiness course, the development of a new module for inpatient management of anticoagulation as part of the Advanced Anticoagulation elective course, and outstanding service to the professions of pharmacy and critical care through national and state leadership.

Lindsey Childs-Kean –For outstanding teaching in the PharmD program, including the development of several Facilitated Case Discussions implemented in the Patient Care course series, exceptional service to the college and profession, and outstanding scholarly contributions.

Yousong Ding – For being an exemplary citizen and being essential to the successful RM1 Medicinal Chemistry proposal, for his interest in synthetic biology beyond COP to include other colleges through his work with faculty across UF in the SynBio group, and for going above and beyond in his university service through time and effort on several important faculty senate committees.

Carinda FeildFor outstanding leadership and guidance to the Office of Experiential Programs,  for serving as a model and innovative teacher and educator in the PharmD curriculum, for her work and dedication to mentoring, and for her exceptional service and commitment to inclusivity, diversity, and scholarship.

Robert HuigensFor exceptional leadership of the graduate program in Medicinal Chemistry, exemplary teaching in the PharmD and PhD programs, and outstanding citizenship in the college.

Chris McCurdy – For continuing to bring positive national spotlight to the college through his national service, including service on an FDA Advisory committee, as an advisor to the Board of Directors of the AAPS, and co-chair of the Drug Design and Discovery group of the international Pharmaceutical Federation, for citizenship in the college in his service as T and P committee chair during a very high-volume period, in addition to other service within the college and university.

Bethany ShouldersFor exceptional initiative, use of teaching innovations and excellence in the PharmD curriculum, for her participation in interprofessional teaching with the College of Dentistry, and for introduction of multiple clinical innovations that directly benefited her APPE and post-graduate clinical trainees.

Lihui YuanFor outstanding and innovative teaching in the PharmD program, significantly revising and enhancing the Pathophysiology and Patient Assessment course series, and outstanding service to the college.