Dr. Almut Winterstein elected to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida

Almut Winterstein, Ph.D., R.Ph., a distinguished professor in the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, has been elected to the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida, or ASEMFL. Fourteen members of the class of 2022 were officially inducted at the ASEMFL Annual Meeting in Orlando on Nov. 5. The meeting featured talks by renowned experts that span the universe, the environment, communities, neurobiology and genetics, as well as other topics in science, engineering, medicine and public health.

Dr. Almut Winterstein ASEMFL
Julie Johnson, Pharm.D., a distinguished professor in the UF College of Pharmacy and ASEMFL president, recognizes Almut Winterstein, Ph.D., R.Ph., on her election into the Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida.

Winterstein, who also serves as the Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair in Medication Safety and the director of the Center for Drug Evaluation and Safety at the UF College of Pharmacy, was elected to ASEMFL for uncovering real-world drug safety problems and guiding clinical and regulatory decision on the safe and effective use of medications. She joins Chimay Anumba, Ph.D., dean and professor of the UF College of Design, Construction and Planning, as the only two inductees from UF this year.

“It is a tremendous compliment to have the impact of my work recognized by the broad spectrum of scientific disciplines that are represented in ASEMFL,” Winterstein said. “I look forward to engaging with my ASEMFL member colleagues and helping to further ASEMFL’s agenda by engaging in studies that address current and future challenges that face our global society and in particular our state.”

ASEMFL includes scientists and thought leaders from across multiple disciplines, as the organization strives to address key issues and challenges impacting Florida from the environment, sustainable energy, STEM education, health care and more.