Orlando chapter ranked among Kappa Psi’s top performers

Kappa Psi, the world’s largest pharmaceutical fraternity, has recognized a University of Florida College of Pharmacy chapter as one of its top performers in 2021-22. Epsilon Mu from the Orlando campus was one of eight chapters nationally presented with Kappa Psi’s Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award.

Kappa Psi Awards 2022
Members of the Epsilon Mu chapter of Kappa Psi accepted their Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award and several other national honors at the pharmaceutical fraternity’s 60th Grand Council Convention in Phoenix.

The honor is reserved for those chapters scoring the highest in Kappa Psi’s progress report. For Epsilon Mu, it’s the ninth consecutive progress report where the chapter finished in the top 10 nationally.

“It is truly an honor to receive Kappa Psi’s Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award,” said Shefa Ali, Epsilon Mu’s regent and a third-year pharmacy student. “We are a relatively small student organization with only 19 collegiate members, but there is a lot of merit in quality over quantity, and we demonstrated that with this award.”

During the 2021-22 academic year, Epsilon Mu had three members serve on regional executive boards and more than half of its members attended a region assembly. The chapter participated in eight community service events and hosted 20 social events. Nearly 90% of its members were involved in other pharmacy organizations, with more than half serving in an officer role.

In addition to the Kappa Psi Chapter of the Year Award, several UF College of Pharmacy students were also recognized with national awards. Lydia Borah, a fourth-year student at the Orlando campus, and Hannah Reynolds, a third-year student from the Gainesville campus, received Member Spotlight Awards. These are presented to members for outstanding work within the fraternity. Meanwhile, Monica Bennett, a fourth-year student at the Jacksonville campus, and Sabrina Desmond-Satchfield, a fourth-year student from the Orlando campus, were two of the 10 national scholarship winners.