Three UF pharmacy students win American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education awards

The American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education, or AFPE, awarded fellowships to three University of Florida College of Pharmacy students to support their academic pursuits as young scientists. The highly competitive awards will fund student-led research projects that will positively impact patients and public health.

AFPE awards 2020UF College of Pharmacy graduate students Ariana Brice-Tutt and Mohammed Gbadamosi were the recipients of a $10,000 AFPE Pre-Doctoral Research Fellowship. Brice-Tutt is entering her fourth year of graduate studies and is mentored by Jay McLaughlin, Ph.D., a professor of pharmacodynamics. Her research will examine the therapeutic and mechanistic evaluation of multifunctional opioids as improved treatments for pain and substance abuse. Gbadamosi will begin his fourth year of graduate studies in the fall and is mentored by Jatinder Lamba, Ph.D., M.Sc., a professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research. His fellowship will support the study of pharmacogenomics drivers of efficacy in anti-CD33 immunotherapeutic treatment strategies to kill cancer cells.

Razanne Oueini, a third-year student in the Pharm.D. program, was one of 10 students nationally to receive a $5,000 Gateway to Research Fellowship award. Her research aims to identify trends associated with the co-prescribing of opioids with other classes of sedative medications. She is mentored by Scott M. Vouri, Ph.D., Pharm.D., BCPG, a clinical assistant professor of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy.