UF Pharmacy wins four abstract awards at ASH Annual Meeting

The American Society of Hematology, or ASH, honored four gators from the University of Florida College of Pharmacy — two postdoctoral associates and two graduate students — at its 61st Annual Meeting in Orlando, Dec. 7-10.

Four UF Pharmacy postdocs and students won ASH abstract awards
Two postdocs and two graduate students won ASH abstract awards, from left to right, Yonghan He; Mohammed Gbadamosi; Abdelrahman Elsayed and Roya Rafiee.

Postdoctoral associates Roya Rafiee, B.S.N., M.Sc., Ph.D., and Yonghan He, M.D., Ph.D., received Abstract Achievement Awards, along with graduate student Abdelrahman Elsayed, M.Sc. Additionally, graduate student Mohammed Gbadamosi received a Minority Graduate Student Abstract Achievement Award.

The Lamba lab, headed by Jatinder Lamba, Ph.D., a professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research, was well represented with three winners coming from the lab: Rafiee, Elsayed and Gbadamosi. He works in the Zhou lab under pharmacodynamics professor Daohong Zhou, M.D.

ASH gives Abstract Achievement Awards to trainees with high-scoring annual meeting abstracts of which they are the first or senior author and presenter. The Minority Graduate Student Abstract Achievement Award goes to select graduate students to honor their research accomplishments and to recruit and retain underrepresented minority graduate students in the field of hematology.

Read more about the awardees’ research:

Gbadomosi: Novel CD33 Antibodies Unravel Localization, Biology, and Therapeutic Implications of CD33 Isoforms

He: DT2216, a BCL-XL Proteolysis Targeting Chimera (PROTAC), Is a Potent Anti T-Cell Lymphoma Agent That Does Not Induce Significant Thrombocytopenia

Elsayed: A 5-Gene Ara-C, Daunorubicin and Etoposide (ADE) Drug Response Score As a Prognostic Tool to Predict AML Treatment Outcome

Rafiee: Genome-Scale CRISPR-Cas9 Synthetic Lethal Screening of AML Cell Line Identified Functional Modulators of Etoposide Resistance Predictive of Clinical Outcome in AML Patients