Johnson, Hochhaus and Kurumaddali honored with ACCP Awards

ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award presented to Dean Julie Johnson

2019 AACP Award WinnersJulie Johnson, Pharm.D., dean and distinguished professor in the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, was presented the 2019 American College of Clinical Pharmacology, or ACCP, Distinguished Investigator Award during the organization’s annual meeting in Chicago. The award is one of ACCP’s most prestigious honors and is given annually to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, in a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology. ACCP also inducted Johnson as an honorary fellow in 2014.

Johnson’s research focuses on cardiovascular pharmacogenomics and genomic medicine implementation. She has authored more than 300 original research articles and been named a Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Scientist four times from 2015-18, indicating she is in the top 1 percent of the most highly cited scientists in her field. She has served in several leadership roles within the National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Food & Drug Administration and multiple professional societies, including president of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

In 2014, Johnson was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine), which is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine. She has received numerous national awards and honors, including the 2016 Volwiler Research Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the 2019 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Paul Parker Medal.

Dr. Guenther Hochhaus honored with Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award

The American College of Clinical Pharmacology, or ACCP, honored Guenther Hochhaus, Ph.D., a professor of pharmaceutics, with the 2019 Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology Award. The award is given annually to a mentor who demonstrated exemplary promotion of clinical pharmacology, with an emphasis on training junior scientists or colleagues. Hochhaus joined the University of Florida College of Pharmacy in 1987, and during his tenure at UF he has published more than 200 papers and mentored more than 100 graduate students, interns and postdocs.

Hochhaus is a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the American College of Clinical Pharmacology. He has been a member of ACCP since 1989 and received the organization’s Tanabe Young Investigator Award in 1998. In addition, he served two terms on ACCP’s Board of Regents from 1999-2005 and 2012-17.

Dr. Abhinav Kurumaddali wins one of eight national ACCP Student & Trainee Abstract Awards

Abhinav Kurumaddali, Ph.D., M.S., B.S. Pharm., a 2019 graduate of the UF College of Pharmacy who studied in the department of pharmaceutics, was one of eight trainees honored with a 2019 American College of Clinical Pharmacology, or ACCP, Student & Trainee Abstract Award. He and the other award winners were recognized at the ACCP 50th Anniversary Gala on Sept. 14 in Chicago. Kurumaddali’s award-winning abstract was titled, “A semi-physiological approach for evaluating the sensitivity of pharmacokinetics to detect differences in regional lung deposition of orally inhaled drug products (OIDPs).” It examined how pharmacokinetics may be able to provide important supportive information for pulmonary bioequivalence assessment of slowly dissolving drugs without the conduct of comparative clinical endpoint or pharmacodynamics studies. Kurumaddali studied under the mentorship of Guenther Hochhaus, Ph.D., a professor of pharmaceutics.

ACCP presents new member recruitment award to Yi Ting (Kayla) Lien

Yi Ting (Kayla) Lien, M.S., a fourth-year pharmaceutics graduate student in the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, received national recognition for her efforts to build the American College of Clinical Pharmacology’s membership. Lien received ACCP’s top recruiter award at the organization’s Annual Meeting in Chicago, Sept. 15-17.

Yii Ting (Kayla) LienLien helped recruit between five to 10 new members to ACCP in 2018-19 and was recognized with a plaque and free registration to next year’s annual meeting. The department of pharmaceutics in the UF College of Pharmacy was instrumental in becoming the first school to have a student chapter in ACCP. Today, the student organization has more than 20 members.