Orlando chapter wins FSHP Student Society of the Year

2018-2019 FSHP ORL Officers
2018-2019 FSHP Orlando Executive Officers

The Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists, or FSHP, selected the University of Florida College of Pharmacy’s Orlando FSHP student chapter as its 2019 Student Society of the Year. The award is given annually to the society who demonstrates outstanding achievements in FSHP membership activities, individual professional leadership, career development, patient care activities and more.

Orlando’s FSHP student chapter features 99 members. Its leadership plans activities throughout the year to introduce various career paths for clinical pharmacists and provide members with the knowledge to pursue a fulfilling career in health care. This past year, the society hosted a residency showcase, a medication reconciliation workshop and mock residency and internship interview activities for its members. The chapter also volunteered at several community service activities including Camp Boggy Creek and partnering with the Orlando Superkids Classic to host a soap box derby for children with special needs.

2019-2020 FSHP Orlando Executive Officers
2019-2020 FSHP Orlando Executive Officers

“Winning Student Society of the Year reflects the incredible dedication and support by our members and the high standards set for us by past and present leaders, said Jessica Conn, a third-year student and president of the Orlando FSHP student chapter. “We believe that our vision as a student chapter has inspired fellow students to continuously better themselves as clinicians by using their knowledge and skill set to leave a lasting impact on our community.”

This marks the fifth consecutive year that an FSHP student chapter from the UF College of Pharmacy was selected Student Society of the Year. The Gainesville chapter won in 2015, the St. Petersburg chapter won in 2016 and 2017, and the Jacksonville chapter won in 2018.

Dr. Karen Sando, 08, named FSHP Pharmacist of the Year

Karen Sando
Karen Sando, Pharm.D.

Karen Sando, Pharm.D., a 2008 graduate of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, was named the FSHP 2019 Pharmacist of the Year. The award is given annually to a Florida pharmacist who demonstrates outstanding performance and achievements during his or her pharmacy career. Sando served as a faculty member at UF from 2010-17 and was the 2015-16 UF College of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year. While at UF, she lectured and supervised students in ambulatory practice pharmacy and directed a PGY1 residency program from 2010-13 and a PGY2 ambulatory care residency from 2014-17. She has been active in FSHP since 2008 and has held leadership roles within the organization.

Sando currently serves as an assistant dean of assessment and accreditation and an associate professor in the department of pharmacy practice at Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy in Fort Lauderdale.

FSHP recognizes UF pharmacy students with scholarships and board appointment

FSHP recognized three University of Florida College of Pharmacy students with scholarships at the organization’s annual meeting in Orlando. Fourth-years students Natalie Brumwell and Jordan Wallace from the Gainesville campus and Vivian Nguyen from the Jacksonville campus were presented scholarships. Wallace was also appointed as one of the student members on the FSHP Board of Directors.

Connie Hogrefe, ’15, recognized with FSHP Meritorious Service Award

Connie Hogrefe
Connie Hogrefe, Pharm.D., M.S.

Connie Hogrefe, Pharm.D., M.S., the director of pharmacy at Select Specialty Hospital in Fort Myers and a 2015 graduate of the UF College of Pharmacy, was recognized with the FSHP 2019 Meritorious Service Award. FSHP annually awards the honor to a Florida pharmacist who is recognized for his or her devotion and dedication to the society. Hogrefe served as president of FSHP in 2012-13 and was named the 2015 FSHP Pharmacist of the Year. She is a member of the UF College of Pharmacy’s Dean’s Leadership Council.