Jacksonville and Gainesville FSHP student chapters win top awards at annual meeting

The top student chapter of the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists, or FSHP, once again resides at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. On Aug. 3, the UF College of Pharmacy Jacksonville FSHP student chapter was named FSHP Student Chapter of the Year. Meseret Dabi, president of the Jacksonville chapter, accepted the award on behalf of its 133 student members. This marks the fourth consecutive year that an FSHP student chapter from the UF College of Pharmacy received the honor, with the Gainesville chapter winning in 2015, and the St. Petersburg chapter winning in 2016 and 2017.FSHP Student Awards 2018

Jacksonville students spent the past year participating in a number of interactive and rewarding events to improve medication therapy in their community. Members teamed up with the Florida/U.S. Virgin Islands Poison Information Center in Jacksonville for educational activities during National Poison Prevention Week. In addition, they started a new patient care project that team with local health system pharmacists to provide medication review sessions to more than 75 patients in the Jacksonville area. Lori Dupree, Pharm.D., BCPS, a clinical assistant professor, serves as the group’s faculty advisor.

The top fundraiser award for FSHP’s political action committee went to the Gainesville student chapter. Natalie Brumwell, president of the Gainesville chapter, accepted the award during the House of Delegates Meeting at FSHP’s annual conference in Orlando. By raising hundreds of dollars, the Gainesville student chapter assisted FSHP’s efforts to support legislators who advance the pharmacy profession. Richard Segal, Ph.D., associate dean for faculty affairs, Kenneth Komorny, Pharm.D., BCPS, assistant director of clinical pharmacy services at UF Health, and Lindsey Childs-Kean, Pharm.D., M.P.H., BCPS, serve as faculty advisors for the Gainesville chapter.