Dr. Hartmut Derendorf becomes a two-time winner of the UF Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award

Dr. DerendorfOne of the University of Florida’s highest teaching honors has been awarded to Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D., for the second time. The UF Graduate School selected Derendorf, the V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and a distinguished professor and chair of the department of pharmaceutics in the UF College of Pharmacy, as a 2017-18 UF Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentor Award winner. He won the award for the first time in 2008-09.

Derendorf was recognized for his dedication to graduate education and sponsorship of student research at the highest levels. During his tenure that spans more than 35 years, he has mentored over 50 graduate students, 500 interns and postdoctoral fellows and countless professional students. Many of his former students have enjoyed successful professional careers, including two former postdoctoral fellows that have become presidents of universities.

Derendorf’s teaching philosophy is grounded in the principle that learning can only be accomplished by a student’s active participation.

“I view the teacher’s primary role as guiding the learning process by structuring the material into portions that are within the student’s grasp of understanding,” Derendorf said. “An effective teacher motivates student to learn by providing the appropriate context for the subject matter.”

The UF Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award was established in 2001. This is the first time a faculty member has won the award twice. Derendorf and Russell Bauer, Ph.D., a professor in the UF College of Public Health and Health Professions, were honored this year for the second time. Only five UF graduate faculty receive the prestigious university award each year.

This is the second year in a row the UF College of Pharmacy has claimed one of the five awards. Almut Winterstein, Ph.D., professor and The Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair in Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, was honored in 2016-17.

UF College of Pharmacy Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Award Winners

2008-09 – Hartmut Derendorf
2016-17 – Almut Winterstein
2017-18 – Hartmut Derendorf