More than 200 UF student pharmacists attend APhA-ASP Midyear Regional Meeting

UF College of Pharmacy won the Region 3 Operation Diabetes Award.
UF College of Pharmacy won the Region 3 Operation Diabetes Award.

The orange and blue of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy was well represented at the American Pharmacist Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists, or APhA-ASP, Midyear Regional Meeting, Oct. 14-16, in Orlando. More than 700 student pharmacists from the 27 pharmacy colleges in the Southeast that represent Region 3 attended the midyear meeting, including 200 UF pharmacy students. Han Le, a third-year student pharmacist from Jacksonville, was the elected coordinator of the meeting, and UF served as the host chapter.

UF student pharmacists collected several honors and awards at the meeting. The UF chapter was recognized as the Region 3 Operation Diabetes and Operation Heart award winners. These honors are given to chapters that are doing significant work with these projects and are determined based on reports turned in at the end of every year. Shannon Stittsworth, a second-year student pharmacist from Jacksonville, was elected as the Region 3 Member-at-large. There is one Member-at-large per region, and there are eight regions representing APhA-ASP nationally. In the role, she will coordinate communication among the 26 chapters within Region 3, as well as the national office. She will encourage involvement among chapter members at the regional and national levels and help impact the future of pharmacy through involvement in APhA-ASP.

Finally, four UF student pharmacists were presented with Member Recognition Awards based on dedication to their chapter and the leadership they have demonstrated. The campus award winners were nominated by their chapter presidents and advisors and included, Jessica Boh from St. Petersburg, Jaclyn Kilsgaard from Orlando, Tina Nguyen from Gainesville, and Shannon Stittsworth from Jacksonville.

Photo Courtesy of Douglas Tam