Dean Julie Johnson named ASCPT President

The American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, or ASCPT, has announced the appointment of Julie Johnson, Pharm.D., as its 2016 president.

Johnson is dean and distinguished professor of the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. She is also a distinguished professor of medicine at the UF College of Medicine and director of the UF Health Personalized Medicine Program.

A recognized leader in cardiovascular pharmacogenomics and genomic medicine implementation, Johnson leads National Institutes of Health-funded programs in hypertension pharmacogenomics and clinical implementation of pharmacogenomics into clinical practice. She has written more than 230 original articles and was named a 2015 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Scientist for being among the top one percent of cited authors in pharmacology and toxicology. She is a current editorial board member for ASCPT’s flagship journal, Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics.

Johnson has been an active member of ASCPT for over 20 years, and has been involved in many of the ASCPT programs, task forces, and committees, including the Scientific Program Committee, Membership Committee, and Scientific Awards Selection and Strategic Planning Task Forces. She has been a featured speaker and presenter at the ASCPT Annual Meetings. She will deliver the 2016 William B. Abrams Lecture, a joint ASCPT and US Food and Drug Administration educational initiative established in 1999 to honor William B. Abrams, M.D., an ASCPT president from 1975-76.

In 2004, Johnson received the ASCPT Leon I. Goldberg Young Investigator Award. She was also a recipient Therapeutics Frontiers Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy in 2009, and the Paul Dawson Biotechnology Research Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 2007, among many other honors. She was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine) in 2014, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

Johnson earned her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy at Ohio State University and her Pharm.D. from the University of Texas at Austin and University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship in cardiovascular pharmacology and pharmacokinetics at Ohio State.

ASCPT is the leading forum for the discussion, development, and integration of clinical pharmacology, translational medicine and therapeutics. Headquartered in Alexandria, Virginia, ASCPT was established in 1900. Today, more than 2,200 ASCPT members are committed to advancing the science and practice of translational medicine, building on a foundation of clinical pharmacology and therapeutics.