2014 Outstanding Pharmacy Alumnus Award

Indra Reddy

This award recognizes an alumnus whose lifetime contributions have been truly extraordinary with lasting benefits to the profession.

Indra Reddy, Ph.D., is a professor and founding dean for the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy at the Texas A&M Health Science Center. Before his 2004 appointment, he was a professor and co-chair of  pharmaceutical sciences at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. He received a bachelor’s in pharmacy from the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Kakatiya University in India and a master’s in pharmaceutics at Dr. Harisingh Gour University in India. He received a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences in 1989 from the UF, and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the UF Center for Drug Design and Delivery under Nicholas Bodor, Ph.D. Reddy’s research interests included the design of novel ocular drugs and delivery systems, development of cell culture models as alternatives to animal testing, and student-centered learning strategies and outcomes assessment. He serves on editorial boards for five international pharmacy journals and as a reviewer for more than a dozen scientific/ pharmacy journals. He has published more than 100 research and review articles. He is a Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the American Pharmacists Association and a recipient of the APhA Research Achievement Award. He is serving as an international commissioner for the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education for 2013-16, through their International Service Program. He also serves as chair-elect for the National AAPS Fellows Committee.