Celebrating Distinction in Pharmacy

Celebrating Distinction
UF College of Pharmacy Professors Maureen Keller-Wood (l) and Hartmut Derendorf (r) are honored by Dean Julie Johnson at the 2013 Celebrating Distinction ceremony for UF Health Science Center faculty who were named as endowed professorships or chairs.

Pharmacy Chairs, Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D. and Maureen Keller-Wood, Ph.D., were honored at the annual Celebrating Distinction ceremony recognizing UF Health Science Center faculty recently named to an endowed professorship or chair. Appointment to a professorship or chair is one of the highest honors a college can bestow on a faculty member and is reserved for scholars of national and international acclaim.

This honor would not be possible without the generosity of our donors who choose to invest in our faculty and their programs. We are eternally grateful to them, and we salute their vision for a better tomorrow.

Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D.
The V. Ravi Chandran, Ph.D. Professorship in Pharmaceutical Sciences

Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D., has been teaching biopharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics and clinical pharmacokinetics at the College of Pharmacy since 1983 and has supervised more than 40 Ph.D. students. A distinguished professor of pharmaceutics, and department chair, his research interests include the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of corticosteroids, analgesics, antibiotics, and drug interactions. He has served as president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP) and the International Society of Anti-Infective Pharmacology (ISAP). He was awarded the Research Achievement Award in Clinical Sciences of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), the Volwiler Award of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) and the ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award. He has published more than 400 scientific papers and eight textbooks.

About this Gift: V. Ravi Chandran established this fund to promote creative scientific projects, teaching and fellowships at UF. Chandran earned his master’s degree in pharmacy in 1983 and his doctoral degree in pharmaceutical science in 1986 from UF. After graduation, Chandran began his own pharmaceutical company, American Generics Inc. He is involved in research and development projects for new drug development and also works as an independent pharmaceutical scientist. In 2004, he received a UF Distinguished Pharmacy Alumnus Award.

Maureen Keller-Wood, Ph.D.
CVS/Pharmacy Inc. Professorship

Maureen Keller-Wood, Ph.D., is a professor and chair of pharmacodynamics. Her overall research interest is the physiologic adaptations to pregnancy and effects of maternal physiology on fetal maturation and growth. Her laboratory is focusing on changes related to the effects of the adrenal hormone cortisol. There are two major areas of research. The first is to examine the interaction of cortisol and the placental hormone progesterone for regulation of blood pressure and blood volume in pregnancy. A second area of research examines the physiologic significance of increased cortisol on the fetus during pregnancy.

About this Gift: CVS/Pharmacy Inc. created this fund to support the College of Pharmacy’s mission to help people live longer, healthier and happier lives. The company’s values center around respect for individuals, integrity, teamwork, openness to new ideas and a passion for extraordinary customer service.