April 2012

Published: March 19th, 2012

Category: POP-Award

Dr. Tommy Smith is the new Director of the Distance MS program effective April 1. In other news, he was recently named Alumni of the Year at Phi Lambda Sigma, Iota Chapter at UF College of Pharmacy.

Dr. David Brushwood receives Pellegrino Medal at the Conference Meeting in Alabama. The advisers, faculty and fellows of the HEAL Institute created a mechanism to honor individuals recognized nationally as leaders “for contributions to healthcare ethics in the selfless spirit of Edmund D. Pellegrino.”

Dr. Tommy Smith will be presenting a special session titled Pharmacy Students’ Competency with People with Disabilities: Describing, Developing and Implementing Educational Interventions at the 2012 AACP Annual Meeting in Kissimmee, Florida.

International Society on Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE) Mid-Year Meeting:

This year the meeting will be jointly sponsored by the College of Pharmacy, University of Florida at Miami Beach, Florida.

Presentations by UF Faculty:

Sunday, April 22 (8.30am – 12.30pm session): Cohort Studies by Dr. Almut G. Winterstein
Sunday, April 22 (4.30pm – 5.30pm session): Pharmacoepidemiology in the Cloud by Dr. Bram Hartzema

Click here for more details.


Olihe Okoro, 3rd Year PhD student receives the 2012-2013 Faculty for the Future Fellowship Program Award from Schlumberger Foundation. The Faculty for the Future program was launched by the Schlumberger Foundation in 2004 to award fellowships to women from developing economies. Olihe Okoro will receive up to $50,000 towards her dissertation which is focused on developing a conceptual framework for medication use among Black women living with HIV/AIDS in Florida, and a care process model for improved adherence, optimum retention and improved health outcomes in this population.