Menu UF Health Home Menu

Julie A. Johnson, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS

Julie A. Johnson

Dean, and Distinguished Professor

Dean's Office



PHONE: 352-273-6007

CV: Link to CV



  • B.S. in Pharmacy, Ohio State University
  • Pharm.D., University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Post-doctoral fellowship in cardiovascular pharmacology/pharmacokinetics at the Ohio State University

Biographical Sketch

  • A 2013 UF Research Foundation Professor
  • V. Ravi Chandran Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences (2004 – 2013)
  • Distinguished Professor of Pharmacy, Department of Pharmacotherapy and Translational Research, College of Pharmacy
  • Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine (Cardiovascular Medicine), College of Medicine
  • Director of the UF Health Personalized Medicine Program

Dr. Johnson joined the faculty at the University of Florida in May 1998. Prior to her appointment, she held a faculty position for nine years at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy.

Research Interests

Dr. Johnson’s research programs focus on inter-patient variability in drug response, particularly cardiovascular drug pharmacogenomics, and the influence of race/ethnicity on drug response and pharmacogenomics. The majority of her research centers around the pharmacogenomics of antihypertensive drugs, and drugs use to prevent clot formation. Her research has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health or the American Heart Association since 1990. She leads one of the groups funded by the NIH Pharmacogenomics Research Network, with a project focused on pharmacogenomics of antihypertensive drugs.


Dr. Johnson currently serves as a chartered member of NIH’s Xenobiotics and Nutrients Disposition and Action (XNDA) study section, a member of the Pediatric Heart Network Protocol Review Committee and the Heart Failure Network Data and Safety Monitoring Board, both for the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute of NIH. She has had numerous leadership roles in many national and international organizations, including the American Heart Association (AHA), the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (ASCPT), among others. She is an elected fellow of the ACCP and the AHA.  She served as an elected Regent on the Board of Regents of the ACCP from 2000-2003; and served on the Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee for the Food and Drug Administration (2000-2004). She is on the Editorial Boards for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Pharmacogenetics and Genomics, Journal of the American Heart Association, and Personalized Medicine; is a Scientific Editor for Pharmacotherapy; and serves as a manuscript reviewer for numerous other scientific journals.


  • A 2013 UF Research Foundation Professor
  • Distinguished Investigator Award, American College of Clinical Pharmacy Cardiology Practice and Research Network, October 2010
  • Russell Miller Award for Contribution to the Literature, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, October 2010
  • Gutkey Memorial Lecture and Dean’s Convocation, University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, September 2010
  • Loius C. Littlefield Research Excellence Day Plenary Speaker, University of Texas at Austin, April 2010
  • Julius Koch Memorial Lecturer, University of Pittsburgh College of Pharmacy, March 2010
  • Therapeutic Frontiers Award, American College of Clinical Pharmacy, October 2009. This is the highest research award in ACCP and is not limited to ACCP members
  • Robert G. Leonard Memorial Lecture Award, Texas Society of Health System Pharmacists and University of Texas at Austin, April 2008
  • First Tennessee Chair of Excellence Visiting Professor, University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy, January 2008
  • Paul Dawson Biotechnology Research Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, July 2007
  • David E. Guttman Memorial Lecturer, University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy, September 2006
  • Ohio State University College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award, May 2005
  • Leon I. Goldberg Young Investigator Award, American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, March 2004
  • Outstanding Faculty of the Year, Working Professional Pharm.D. Program, University of Florida, 2001
  • Ohio State University William Oxley Thompson Alumni Award, 1999 – awarded for distinctive career achievement to an Ohio State University alumnus less than 36 years old.
  • Teaching Excellence Award, 1996 – Presented by the UT Student Government Association


Genetic variant in folate homeostasis associated with lower warfarin dose in African Americans

The influence of the CYP2C19*10 allele on clopidogrel activation and CYP2C19*2 genotyping

Full Publication List via PubMed